About us

ORQOA was founded in 2010 with the aim to approach the migrational oriental society in Austria and the LGBTIQ community and to fight strong prevailing prejudices and discrimination. We are the contact point for people who are harassed, isolated and discriminated because of their sexual orientation in the migrational-oriental culture.  

In many countries of the orient, homosexuality is a criminal offense - the punishment range from imprisonment and torture up to lifelong imprisonment or death penalty. But the authority does not only derive from the state. The intolerance towards people of the LGBTIQ Comunity is strongly established in people's minds. The repudiation of the family and the loss of "social skills" are the result. If these people have to flee, they are alone and on their own.

Life in exile is the last escape for these people far away from their families and their home countries. As refugees oft he LGBTIQ-Comunity they suffer from a doubled form of discrimination as refugees and are faced with the extremely complex issue of integration.

Therefore ORQOA tries to intervene on different levels to improve the situation of LGBTIQ-Asylum seekers and to help create a complete integration as our ultimate aim:

  • Networking and Public Relation: ORQOA puts it’s emphasis on building a network with NGOs, media and volunteers out oft he field of medicine/economy/justice and existing infrastructures and resources fort the cration of solutions and for being able to make use of help. With this network we create highest transparancy, collaboration and synnergyeffects in our internal work and the service for asylumseekers.
  • Individual support of LGBTIQ-asylum seekers: the creation and use of monitoring and Buddy services for the individual care and support of LGBTIQ-migrants. Creation of educational and social integrative institutions and events.
  • Aid to refugees through fundraiser: organisation of fundraising campaigns, flea markets, seminars, films, panel discussions and informational seminars to assist refugees financially here and abroad and to create more acceptance and tolerance.

under


© 2012 - Oriental Queer Organisation AustriaDisclaimer

Über uns

ORQOA
wurde 2010 mit dem Ziel gegründet, die migrantisch-orientalische Gesellschaft in Österreich der LGBTIQ-Gemeinde thematisch anzunähern und stark vorherrschende Vorurteile und Diskriminierung zu bekämpfen. Wir sind Anlaufstelle für Menschen, die auf Grund Ihrer sexuellen Orientierung im migrantisch-orientalischen Kulturkreis belästigt, isoliert und diskriminiert werden.
In vielen Ländern des Orients ist Homosexualität eine strafbare Handlung - die Bestrafungen reichen von Freiheitsentzug und Folter bis zu lebenslänglichen Gefängnis- oder Todesstrafe. Doch die Gewalt geht nicht nur vom Staat aus. Die Intoleranz gegenüber Menschen der LGBTIQ-Comunity ist stark in den Köpfen der Menschen verwurzelt. Die Verstoßung aus der Familie und der Verlust der „Gesellschaftsfähigkeit“ sind die Folge. Wenn diese Menschen flüchten müssen, sind sie allein auf sich gestellt.

Das Leben im Exil der letzte Ausweg für diese Menschen fern von der Familie und dem Herkunftsland. Sie erleiden als Flüchtlinge und als Mitglieder der LGBTIQ-Comunity doppelte Diskriminierung und werden mit dem äußerst komplexen Thema der Integration konfrontiert.

ORQOA versucht daher auf drei verschiedenen Ebenen die Situation der LGBTIQ-Asylwerber zu verbessern und als ultimatives Ziel eine vollständige Integration zu ermöglichen:

  • Networking und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit: ORQOA setzt seinen Schwerpunkt in den Aufbau eines Netzwerkes mit NGOs, Medien und Freiwilligen aus dem Bereich der Medizin/Wirtschaft/Justiz um bestehende Infrastrukturen und Ressourcen für die Erarbeitung von Lösungen und Hilfestellung nützen zu können. Durch dieses Netzwerk schaffen wir höchste Transparenz, Zusammenarbeit und Synergieeffekte in der internen Zusammenarbeit sowie im Serviceangebot für die AsylwerberInnen.

  • Individual-Betreuung von LGBTIQ-AsylwerberInnen: Schaffung und Nutzung von Begleit- und Buddyservice für die individuelle Betreuung und Unterstzützung von LGBTIQ-MigrantInnen. Schaffung von Bildungs- und Sozialintegrativen Einrichtungen und Veranstaltungen.
  • Flüchtlingshilfe durch Spenden: Organisation von Spendenaktionen durch Flohmärkte, Seminare, Film-, Podien und Informationsabende um Flüchtlingen im In- und Ausland finanziell zu unterstützen und mehr Akzeptanz und Verständnis zu schaffen.

under


© 2012 - Oriental Queer Organisation AustriaImpressum